Some nice words about what’s happened this week.

Hi!

This is a letter from Alexander Forselius, a customer champion on the support forums. I’m from Lidköping, but born in Brasov Romani, lived in Stockholm 1994 – 2000 and now lives in Lidköping, but I really want to move back to Stockholm (or another big city) some day. I’m a code lover, and have done some nice programming related to your service (Spotify) which I’m going to tell you a little more later in this letter.

First of all I want to congratulate you to your awesome update that was rolled out yesterday, with huge improvements to the Spotify client, by addition of several good improvements I have been waiting for nearly since the beginning of Spotifys history. All new features that came yesterday are truley awesome! The new feature allowing people to find other people’ public playlist by the name, is one of the best improvement I ever see to this service. This addition will definitely be a huge benefit to us artists who need to get more exposure on the Spotify service and increase our potential. This new feature is definetly making the life easier as an independent artists since people now is able to discover new gems on Spotify by finding playlists that matches the good query. This means labels and artists can promote themselves and their content by creating good mixtapes of their content together with other more well-known content. For me as an A&R for Recordunion.com I’m very satisfied.
The thanks is not at the end here. Next thing that you have well done is the addition of seeing what other people are playing right now. While this is also an awesome feature and benefits emerging artists as they are promoted each time they are played by someone, I’m glad people can opt out it for privacy reasons. Also, I’m not ready with my enumeration of your award-winning news. The gems I told you is still only the drumroll, because the truly best thing you ever has done, and will benefit the community and is absolutely one of your biggest, greatest, gorgeous enhancement you’ve done is Spotify Apps! I have never before see a such big directional switch for this service as Spotify Apps. This new service is definitely going to make Spotifythe award-winning service for years. By allowing people and companies create ‘Apps’ for Spotify that deals with the core aspects of the service, this service has got a additional dimension! This feature has been my dream and a suggestion from the community since many years ago. This functionality is more than worth the gorgeous event that was held yesterday in New York, it’s really a new direction for Spotify!

A thing that is very, very intrigous things is that the Spotify Apps seems replicating a concept that I did in a hack for Spotify back in spring 2010. The hack, which amusingly were called ‘SpotiApps’ did create somewhat a App functionality to the Windows Spotify client by some hooks. While the hack was running, playlists could be associated to ‘SpotiApp’ that was loaded in the program and written in C# assemblies, and when the playlist were loaded, the app shown an window that were assigned by the “SpotiApp” runtime to the bounds of the content window in the Spotify client, giving a artifact not unique to Spotify Apps. Have at the look at the video on the link I attached, when the program is running and the user is clicking on a playlist, the content window were filled with an ‘App’ that was associated with the playlist’s name. The hack iself was however not so good in the performance and quality, but maybe this was something that become a spark for the real Spotify Apps? See it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6TDyj14zuw
Another intresting thing were some months ago this release of Spotify Apps, I created somewhat a like program, also this were amusingly named ‘Spotify Apps’, but however in another apporoach. This apporoach were based on a external java app which could be extended with ‘apps’ and was based on Java Swings. Only a few days before the release of the official SpotifyApps, I’d coming far with writting a specification of the framework, and also did hand out some invitations of to the site to some of Spotifys best partners like Afront, and only days later the real Spotify Apps were announced. A important thing with Spotify Apps was to extend the URL model with a new url type, like “SpotifyApp:<appname>:<params>” and also this was made inSpotify Apps.

Bild1.PNG
The occurance of this project, SpotiApps and the now release of Spotify Apps make me wonder if some staff at the Spotify dev had make sense on my hacks some time ago and then considered to made it as a part of the real product. You’ve free to do that, I have nothing against it at all, I’m so happy you did it. My hacks were not working well and I feel it very good you’ve realized my goal of my projects, since it was extremly exhausing work that had impact of other things at my life. So not going to sue you, because I really see the potential of that. Instead I’m the happiest boy in the whole world right now, who feels how my biggest dream about this fantastic products suddently is presented in a spectacular coference all over the world, and see my dream realize and become present everywhere. But if it were likely my work has been a contribution to the idea, you could consider me as a little contributer to that…  Read more about the plugin at this site.
Just the day before the announcement, I had a strange dream, where I saw a view over Riddarfjärden in Stockholm (my dream is to join Spotify, but here I was working on PC För Alla with a plexi glass transparent pages) and suddently I discovered I were able to affect the view. First I managed to create some few red houses in the dizzy horizont, then I suddently got them to be couple of them, then the buildings become somewhat a fortress, then a palace, the palace get bigger, bigger and then it becomes a huge building, growing up to the clouds, the view become a city with a futuristic, fantasy look of houses with strange colors and shapes, the city doubled and then everything got enormous. Then everything become a huge room. I hovered out in the sky and then everything got black, really black and I woke up. Some time later I got know the new direction for Spotify was a platform for app.
I’m a boy with Aspergers Syndrom and I’ve been working with computer since five years ago, since I was a child, much because I had lack of social skills, and I began to get knowledge that impressed many people.
Whole these days and the set of events feels like a strange, gorgeous dream where one of my largets suggestion of the service finally got real. I will never forget your service and I’m in truley love with your business. What’ve you done to me and other can not be valued, it extremly gorgeous. I felt Spotify is the future of digital music and media.

With this said, the years with you I’ve been since the beginning of 2009 has been fantastic! Your attention to me and other customers, realizing their dreams is so much worth. I’m so bored, annoyed and angry about the fact you’re so offended by some of big labels that offend you like a kid in the school, who believe your busines is ‘stealing the music’ and struggling to make obstacles for you, your business and your goals, by altering laws, uploading music to you and then take it down, making your customers very angry, it’s never your fault. I really hope those big labels someday will blown up by their bad choices to not let people enjoy music in a legal, amusing, fun and cheap way.

,
I believe music is a part of our emotion range, with music both listeners and artist is managing various emtions of life. Love, hate, sadness, lucky and without the ability to sing, play and music I believe humans had never become cleaver, because it helps people to deal with feelings. Moreover, I’m also a musician who have produced a large number of music ranging from mainstream electronica to more meditative, drone avantgarde music.

I really hope your business will continue well. I really hope you also take the time and money and satisfy the last percent who are really, really need of the much wanted iPad app, at least give them a hint that this is ongoing. I only wish you when you’re so good way, to not impact your image by dissatisfying the last percent of users and please, now focus on providing them with their needs. I hope you consider to fix those issues with playback that reported, really, really hoping you can attract labels, rising the income for the musician and labels so you don’t purge your fantastic position you’re on. No company in the world seems to have the potential to make a so good deal as Spotify.

I wish you’re about to consider fixing those aspects of the service that are making a large amount of people leaving your awesome service. I hope you consider delay the full working version of the first version of Spotify Apps until you have make sure the users get their very wanted iPad app, a fully working Android app that don’t make people struggling with network issues, audio problems, lost offline mode, and definitely disable the gracenote metadata system at default, because this has been an really, really big problem for many users. If you consider seriously to get further, fix this issues and you’re the absolutely perfect music company in the world I trust you fully. I’m a customer who have fall in true love with your service.

Thanks for the trip with you.. Your service has definetly changed my life forever, in the better way. I’m really excited to continue with your service.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

